The Weather Widget and Social Software for the Enterprise

Over the past six months, I have seen the a number of vendors show their software, and one thing seems to be standing out for me. Everyone for some odd reason, it infatuated with showing how their product has a weather widget. For me, it has no impact other than I know their product can handle widgets. But, knowing ski conditions for my weekend trip is not going to help me or my enterprise with their day to day activities. For some executives, it seems like a time waster (which leads to visions of every employee on Facebook 4 hours a day).

Weather Widget

Weather Widget

So, here is my advice for all those widget creators. Create a widget that would seem valuable for the enterprise worker. Such as a widget that allows me to track certain individuals…or internal communication…or forum topics…or posted videos. Allow it to customizable. Create a widget that will deliver knowledge to the worker to make them more productive. That is a widget that shows value.

And yes, I suppose you could keep the weather widget as we all need a life outside of work.

One Response to The Weather Widget and Social Software for the Enterprise

  1. Pingback: Idea: Corporate Widget for e-mail « Inside Social Media

Leave a Reply

